Source: YouTube

One of my favorite things in music is when genres collide. That’s exactly what we have here with T-Pain’s newest album that came out today!

It’s called “On Top of the Covers” which is objectively hilarious!

The seven-track album, which has no auto-tune (for which T-Pain has become linked to, unfairly or not), includes covers of Journey’s “Don’t Stop Believin”” (above) and Black Sabbath’s “War Pigs” (below)

Yep. T-Pain covering Sabbath.

Don’t be so surprised though, even though he was on the forefront of the auto-tune movement, Mr. Pain here has a voice! He showed it off a bit during a hit on NPR’s Tiny Desk Concerts in ’04 and then as the winner of the Masked Singer!

“This covers album has been years in the making. I started recording this right after I won The Masked Singer,” T-Pain said in a statement. “It got put on hold for a bit but now that I’m independent, I’m able to do whatever I want to do through Nappy Boy Entertainment and this is something I’ve felt strongly about for a long time. These songs are not what you’d expect when you hear that T-Pain is doing a covers album and that is what I think is cool about it.”

On Top of the Covers Tracklist:
01. A Change Is Gonna Come (Sam Cooke)
02. Don’t Stop Believin’ (Journey)
03. Sharing The Night Together
04. Stay With Me (Sam Smith)
05. Tennessee Whiskey (Chris Stapleton)
06. That’s Life feat. NandoSTL (Frank Sinatra)
07. War Pigs (Black Sabbath)